The Department of Urban Development & Housing, Arunachal Pradesh was created on 04.04.1995 vide order OM-1/95(pt) to function as Nodal Department for formulating policies of Urban Development activities, creation of urban infrastructure, implementation & monitoring of various poverty alleviation programme. Today, the Department is headed by a Chief Engineer-cum-Director with functional 18 (eighteen) divisions throughout the state. The state Govt. has declared the Urban Development Department as Works Department.


  • -  To implement Urban Poverty Alleviation Programmes;
  • -  To provide basic ammenities, services and property rights to slum dwellers;
  • -  To construct cluster housing schemes for Below Poverty Line (BPL) familes and Safai Karmacharies;
  • -  To create infrastructure in all 26 (twenty six) urban centres;
  • -  To maintain Urban Sanitation and Solid Waste Management;
  • -  To implement drainage and sewarage system in Urban Areas;
  • -  To clear Public streets, places, sewers etc;
  • -  To allot and manage Government estates in the Capital Town;
  • -  To maintain housing stock;
  • -  To control and regulate real estates development ;
  • -  To control and monitor all activities of State Urban Development Agency (SUDA) and District Urban Development Agencies (DUDAs);
  • -  Matter relating to information and elections of Municipal Boards, Municipal Committee, Town Area Committee and other forms of Municipalities for town and urban areas; and etc.


Name Designation From To
Sh. A. Morang Director Aug 28 1996 Nov 17 1999
Er. K. Waghe Director Nov 18 1999 Apr 25 2000
Er. A. Lego Director Apr 25 2000 Nov 13 2001
Sh. S.D. Vaidya Director Nov 13 2001 Jan 9 2002
Sh. R. Ronya Director Feb 8 2002 Jun 25 2002
Sh. A. Morang Director Jun 26 2002 Jun 7 2005
Er. T. Basar CE cum Director Jun 8 2005 Aug 30 2009
Er. Taba Tedir CE cum Director Aug 31 2009